Large Scale Central

Wood Trestle

I am new to G scale have had Lionel O for years, never had a permanent lay out. The wife is excited about having a train in our garden.
This is my first foray into scratch building. I have been a wood worker for years so its natural that I build a trestle with wood. The trestle will be about 18 feet long with a bridge in the middle over a water feature. Yes the trains will be set up around a small pond, bog, stream and waterfall.

2 Likes

Welcome aboard Mark. Nice looking bent looks like you’re jumping in with both feet :sunglasses:

oh! somebody, who still knows, that wood can be joined with nails, not only with glue!

be welcome!

near a water feature? so rot, where the wood touches earth, will be your worst enemy.
what do you plan to do? build on concrete or brick foundations, or use palisander sleepers under the bents?

if you got some sparetime, this might amuse you:

Welcome. If you like model trains you will find that the multi faceted hobby of G scale is the best.

Trestles are really cool and an 18’ long one is huge! I am wondering how thick are the main members in your bent? When I have built trestles I rip a 1x5 on my table saw. I set the fence at 1/2 ( I have a zero plate so the wood does not fall in) and cut several pieces. I then turn the 1/2x3/4 piece on its side and cut it again. This gives me a 1/2x1/2 beam and a 1/4x1/2 support piece.
I have a laminated plan mounted on a board that I build on and this allows me to quickly build identical bents for my project. The plan is by Garden Textures. They are out of business now but maybe someone has a plan that you could purchase from them. It just makes it easier.
I use Tightbond3 woodglue and 18G brad and 23G pin nails for my projects.
Here is a low trestle I built using mahogany.

Building stuff for the RR is fun. Be sure to check out the Mik’s build Challenge that is just getting started.
There are some really talented people on this forum.

3 Likes