Large Scale Central

Simulating Planished/Russia Iron

So in an effort to again stop hijacking Cliff’s wonderful build thread I figured I would show this here.

While the debate as to what “color” Russia Iron, or the American counterpart planished iron, is will probably be an argument that streams on forever. And this article that Dave M posted does a great job of explaining why the argument is not nor can be settled. In my search for an answer I used the information in his article to develop my plan of attack.

First off it’s not a color, but a process whereby steel is treated. The various steels used are themselves different, the way they are finished are different, and the light in which pictures of it are taken is different.

What I will argue is that the powder blue color model manufactures paints locomotive models is likely NOT a color that planished iron EVER is. I am no expert. I have not done an exhaustive in person examination the world over looking at russian/planished iron. But so far I have not seen in person or even in a restoration photo of a locomotive with a real planished jacket (not painted) that is powder blue.

My personal uneducated opinion is that the reason the manufactures landed on this color was a host of misinformation and the fact that planished iron can have blue hues to it(not unlike gun bluing or the blues you see in heat treated steel). Add to it the fact that Russia planished iron is usually highly polished and reflects the colors surrounding it, such as the sky, giving it various hues, one of which can be blue.

At any rate I set out to see what I could do to make my interpretation of what planished iron looks like based on pictures and actual locomotives I have seen will polished iron jackets.

Someday maybe I will make my dream locomotive. The Baldwin 2-6-0 Mogul made for the Coeur d’Alene Railway and Navigation Co. #4.

Photo from Narrow Gauge Chaos website