Large Scale Central

Modular Layout

I have been a regular visitor here but have not posted that much on this site. I have been working on a modular Layout since about May of 2012. I had taken about a 20 year break from Model railroading. As I was getting back into it I saw the Sundance Central at the Narrow Gauge Convention in Hickory NC. I really enjoyed it and had to build my own. There are no Large scale modular layouts in my area that I have seen. Most seem to model in HO or O gauge. So I set out to build it myself. I have had a lot of fun in the process. I have learned a lot and I am always trying to improve the layout. The layout is about 33’x 24’ and consists of 16 modules. 12 are pentagons and 4 rectangular in shape. the is about 80’ of track on each line. I have been doing about 5 shows a year for the last 3 years.

I am also working on an Indoor layout so I can run my trains when I am not at a show with the modular…

Ty

more pic’s

That’s very nice. How long does it take to set up at a show?

Landrel

It is very nice and I have seen it before so you must have posted it before here at LSC !

I believe this layout was for sale on ebay not to long ago?

It takes about 9 hours to set it up and about 3-4 to take it down…

I have not posted anything here. I have over on another site. I have a complete build thread but it mostly smaller scales…

Yes it was on ebay for a while. I was thinking about starting over and do a better job at it … I have learned a lot and can make it more interesting.

Nice layout, jeez I have my hands full getting set up with my tiny layout, how many people help out during shows? I also do shows with my tiny layout but I’m pretty much by myself during shows. Bob or Sandra from the Door Hollow layout will come by to relieve me if they are also at the show but I have been at a couple shows sans anyone else. It can really suck when you need to go to the john.