Large Scale Central

Help With Layout Please

First I am a complete Newby. I bought my first G scale LGB set this December and now I am bit. So I ordered a 4-4-0 American locomotive from HLW. I just got it yesterday. I plan on putting in a wireless receiver and run in on batteries. I have an area that is 20’ by 50’ where I can build an outdoor railroad. My loco is a D&RGW and I have been reading about the D&RG narrow gauge. I would love to build a point to point railroad to bring in coal, timber and other supplies/materials from point A and drop them off at appropriate warehouses or other receiving buildings at point B. I would also like to be able to expand later into point C that will be my Christmas Village for running the train at Christmas time down that line. I am thinking on elevating the area some 3 ft with pavers and filling in with dirt. I like this concept better than just laying in on the ground (no offense meant for those of you how do). I think it will be a better visual display. While train operations will be important I would like to entertain party guests with just the train “chasing it’s caboose” some times.

I have seen some excellent layout suggestions here. So I am asking for suggestions for my rr.

Thanks in advance for those who take the time to help a lost newby.

Gil V.

Since you have an operating scheme in mind, I’ll just offer a track planning solution that I found easy to work with. It’s a software program with a drop and drag library…it’s also fun to just use your imagination with it and see what combination’s you can come up with. It’s mostly sectional track but there are flex track sections in the library that can be used…

http://www.rrtrack.com/

I didn’t like the way RR Track handled flex track at all. But, I DID use it for my track diagram. My RR is all flex track…