Large Scale Central

2023 Mik Challenge - Gasoline fuel island

I’m so new at this, I am like a tadpole without any legs yet. Just starting my garden railroad I don’t really have any scenery. My father built my son (now an adult) a garage for his toy cars. Missing it’s roof I still have it. Working as a truck mechanic my whole life I know many towns in the early 1900’s had at least one filling station.

Knowing my current time limitations, I still want to join in this challenge. The challenge did say large or small, so I going to build a fuel island, circa 1920’s.

Living in Pennsylvania I have been collecting LGB Pennsylvania rail cars and engines. Searching, the only narrow gauge railroad the mighty PRR owned for a while was the Ohio River & Western Railway. So that has to be my railroad. I have a lot of Pennsylvania rail history info, and I’ll share more as we go.

Here is my napkin:

3 Likes

Welcome to the Challenge, Wayne. Glad you chose to join us. I like the filling station idea. My father was a mechanic, so I grew up in an auto repair shop. This will bring back some very fond memories and probably some not so fond (me getting my rear chewed out, happened a lot :wink:).

Wayne
Welcome to the site and thank you for participating in this years Challenge, hope you enjoy the fun of participating in this great event as much as the rest of us do.

Wasn’t the OR&W a narrow gauge line?

Hi Rick,
Yes, the OR&W was a narrow gauge railroad. They would also run on a small section of the B&O track where a third rail was added.

The original name of the OR&W was the Bellair, Zanesville & Cincinnati Rwy. “Like so many other narrow gauge railroads around the country. saw a little bit of boom and a whole lot of bust.” -Nathaniel R. Howard

Thanks Wayne, I thought I was remembering correctly, that’s always suspect now days :smiley: