Large Scale Central

Wire Mesh Screen

So my latest 3D challenge was developing a woven wire mesh. This was not as easy as I originally thought it would be. As it sits it is a 6mm mesh with a little over a 2mm diameter wire. Of course if I want a smaller or larger gauge mesh its a matter of scaling. I don’t have any particular use for this at the moment but could come in handy on a host of projects. This was the cause (or result) of a bought of insomnia and I started thinking about a screen mesh for a tee pee burner and then wondered if I could design it and print it.

Does anyone know how (if at all) this type of flat surface can be shaped? I don’t know of anyway in Fusion to do it. What about blender, I have no experience with blender. I would love to make this into a dome shape for the top of the teepee burner. If I can’t do it I will use some brass screen and form it that way. But am curious if there is a way to do it in a 3D design program.

I can check with my son and ask if he is willing to discuss how to do what you ask. He created this screen for my Mogul project.

If you’re interested, I can give you his email address.

2 Likes

Absolutely Doc. That is exactly what I want to do.

I’ll get back to you.

Devon,

I have found when i modeled similar flat screen the file size got to be huge and unmanageable. would be easier to work with brass screen formed over a ball IMHO.

Al P.

If you go that route, depending on the type of brass mesh or screen, you might have to solder the edges of the piece to avoid it unraveling when you form it over a dome. Dont ask me how I know, but that stuff isnt cheap when you have to buy it twice.

What about the use of a cheap tea or bigger kitchen strainer, which would be stainless steel ? The plus is they are already dome shaped for you.

1 Like

I’ve built at least a half dozen Tee Pee burners and always used an 8 inch metal kitchen strainer, works very well.

The latest build starts at post 86 in this thread.