Large Scale Central

When to use which switch

I am trying to finish my drawing for our new (& first) layout that we will start building as soon as Mother Nature allows this spring. As a novice I have learned that it is better to ask the “dumb” question than to make the expensive mistake. When designing a layout what criteria are used to decide which switch to use in a particular location? We are using Aristocraft stainless track so the choices are “10-Ft Dia.” Or “#6 switches”.

Any help is always appreciated.

Jim

Hi Jim,

That’s strictly a matter of how much space you have available and if you like the geometry of numbered turnouts better than the more toyish looking curved frogs of the “wide radius”.

Generally, the #6 switch or “Turnout” would represent a “High speed switch” (In real life a high speed switch would have a much longer frog angle…but that’s about the largest you will find in a ready made LS switch these days.

The High speed switch would be used on the main line, and smaller “Frog angle” switches like the Aristo Wide Radius, whould be used on secondary trackage in a yard for example.

In any case, all equipment looks, and functions better on the widest frog angle switches, along with the widest curve you can use. It makes very little sense to buy #6 switches when your widest curves are less than 5 foot radius.

When planning your railroad, think about the future.
What do you think you might enjoy running on it in a few years’ time…if it’s your hope to run BIG Diesel power or articulated steam locos, along with full length passenger equipment…then go to the widest curves you can fit in your outdoor location, along with the #6 switches…

The Wide Radius switches are fine for most situations, where you are running smaller locos, like an Aristo Alco RS3, or a USTrains GP7…or most of the smaller steam locos like the B’mann Annies, and the larger Connie (2-8-0).