Large Scale Central

What is a simple easy remote control solution?

I have some LGB moguls that I would like to convert to battery power / remote controll. Can anyone recommend something that is easy and hopefully straight forward to install?

I purchased an old unused RCS system from John here on LSC and TOC was going to help me install it. However, Dave is not doing very well these days and doesn’t think he is well enough to assist me.

So, I am looking to see what is out there, good and easy to install as I am not an electrician. Any recommendations?

This as simple as it could be. I use a bunch of them. After the first installation, you only need to purchase the on board receiver/sound card as the transmitter can be programmed for your next 49 installations!
You will also need batteries for each loco or use a trail car as I did (after 5 installations).

Timmy, any remote control installation is going to involve some wiring. Even if you are not an electrician, you need to know positive from negative, and how to solder a joint.

The system will need a battery pack with some way to charge it. Then it will need the battery connected to the remote controller board with a switch to turn it on/off. An indicator LED is a good thing too.

All such installs involve:

• disconnecting the wires from the wheel pickups to isolate the loco from the track;
  • connecting wires from the remote control rig to the motor.

Then you have to consider the sound options, perhaps.

The few times we’ve discussed this, the Piko system has usually been considered easiest or least expensive. The Revolution described by Joe is also good - I have a couple of them, and I also have some RCS installations.

Specific to the Moguls, I am doing one with a battery pack in the boiler - a long pack of 4 LiIon batteries arranged in 2 pairs producing 14.4V. Not going to make it run very fast, but that suits me!

I can tell you how to convert one of the moguls with the RCS gear if you want, via email.