Large Scale Central

What capacitor for a Camel back with sound?

I recently bought a Piko camelback with factory sound and it is great but when it stops the sound stops. I looked at the directions and it looks like I can add an optional capacitor to the board but what type? I’m new to this stuff. The directions show that a +16-24 V positive wire goes to the 4th tab on the board and the negative goes to the first where the reed switch plugs in.
Where do I get this optional capacitor for the Piko camel back?

If you don’t get an answer here try calling Train-Li.

Try looking at the electrolytic capacitors on a ‘keep alive’ board. Those would be the ones that are barrel shaped and usually the larger item on the board. It should be marked with the voltage range and capacitance. Capacitance in mF (micro Farads).

The larger the mF number, the longer it will supply voltage to the desired item.

Possibly contact Greg E. [email protected]

1 Like

This is a long shot, but maybe Piko has an optional pack you can get for their sounds.
LGB has them for their sound modules. (I Have a couple of them )

Leaving the throttle set to provide about 6 volts to the

track will keep the sounds, lights and smoke operating

while the locomotive is stopped, such as while standing

at a station. A bit of experimentation will reveal the

proper throttle setting to provide operation of these

“standstill” features. After a time, the sound of the air

compressor pumping will be heard randomly.

The occasional sound of the fireman tossing a shovel or

two of coal into the loco’s firebox will also be heard. As

set from the factory, this only occurs about one of four

times when the loco stops

That is interesting Rooster. I will have to give that a try the next time I’m running it.