Large Scale Central

USA Trains SD40-2 Derailing

Hi, I’m brand new to this forum and have been running G scale models for just over a year now (I have been an avid HO modeler for well over a decade).

I recently bought a brand new USA Train SD40-2 and it has been derailing on my club’s switches. I contacted USA Trains and they advised me to remove the skates, as the wheels have power pick-ups on them. After removing the skates, the locomotive barely wants to move. After contacting them again, they advised me to put the skates back on and “bend them up”.

Has anyone else had problems with their 6-axle USA Trains models derailing on switches? Their 4-axle models run fine.

How sharp are the switches ? Anyone else with same locomotives have that issue?

I can’t help you with the derailing, Alex, sorry. But I wanted to welcome you to the nuthouse. A lot of knowledge in our collective community. I’m sure someone will chime in shortly and get you pointed in the right direction. Glad to have you aboard.

2 Likes

I’m told they’re R3.

which truck derails? Front or back?
R 3"s are sorta tight for some 3 axle trucks.
If it is the rear truck, check to see if the couplers on the engine and car swivel freely.

1 Like

Do you know who makes the switches (turnouts) Aristo switched have a deep frog and our club has reworked them. If I remember there was someone selling inserts at one time. Also USA has a steering font axle on their motor block - is that what is derailing or is it the skate that throwing the whole motor block off. Some of our club members have carpet taped a strip of thin brass along the bottom of the motor block to keep the steering truck part aligned.

Scott

Skates are not bent at 90 degrees. USAT is correct. Take them off, put in vise and hammer them to 90 degrees.

1 Like

Just the front so far and I’m running it light power/solo.

I’m told the main track is LGB and the switches are Piko, which are interchangable (so I’m told).