Large Scale Central

Track plan practical application questions

OK,

So now that I have had some experience either running on, or watching others run on, layouts a few times I have a little better understanding of what I can do in my space and what I will enjoy in a layout. So I am rethinking my entire space and my givens and druthers have entirely changed. I am not going to go into all that but I do have some practical application questions. One major decision/realization is this is an old guy hobby. As an active member of my local club I want to be able to have people over to run and they can’t be dodging and climbing over a lot of track. It won’t be fun for them and it will be asking for stuff to get stepped on. So I am really thinking access and that is a challenge in my small space. I am also steering much more towards operations with only one option for continuous running.

#1 how far apart should parallel tracks be on straights? I am going to be running 1:20 NG equipment. I guess the real question is how much clearance between car sides? My hand built stuff will be about as wide or wider than anything commercial so if I build the track so my stuff can pass then so will most anything else. Whats a safe and realistic clearance?

#2 What about parallels on curves? Again NG equipment so not long. No need to bring your extra long car haulers or super long coaches. But I will be running a modified Accucraft J&S coach with two extra windows. This will be about as long as it will get. Lets assume I will have parallel curves where the tightest inside curve will be 8’ diameter. How far do I push out the outer curve to clear the overhangs? Whats a good rule of thumb?