Large Scale Central

Raise trackwork--best plan?

Total newb here. I’ve read around the forum a bit but what I am after is some methods or how to’s for raised trackwork. I seen some pics of using mixed wood, for stringers, trex for stringer. Is there a source of methods you guys can point me to and what might be good for my climate vs what to avoid. I am in the northern part of WV–so temps from 0-100 as typical.

I think from what I am reading–to avoid backman track–but brass is the way to go. Any thoughts? Also joining track has just as many methods with no clear victor as far as methods?

Definitely stay away from Bachmann, sort of. Stay away from the Big Hauler line. That is pressed metal rail. It will rust very quickly, it is not meant for outdoor use. Bachmann has introduced a line of solid metal track and that should be suitable for outdoor use. Its pretty new so there isnt a lot people using it yet.

The material for your track is really dependent on what you are using for an operating system. track power (DC power pack), DCC or battery/RC

If you are using track power or DCC, you will need a constant reliable connection between the track and your locomotives, which requires cleaning the rail. So you will favor materials that dont tarnish as much. Keep in mind all metals will tarnish in an outdoor environment. Some just arent as much. RC/Batt does not rely on a connection with the rails and so it doesnt require clean track.

Brass will tarnish pretty easily and so it is not an ideal material for track power or DCC. It is ok for RC/Batt (This the material I use because I use RC/Batt).

Aluminum is pretty good although it is not as durable as other materials. However, since you are elevating your rail off the ground this should not be an issue. I do believe that aluminum will oxidize pretty easily so you will have to clean it frequently for DCC or Track Power.

Nickle Silver is better than Brass in oxidation but you will have to keep it clean.