Large Scale Central

Quick aging of brass rail

The thread showing “aging” of aluminum rail got me to thinking about doing the same to brass…I’m tired of waiting for nature to take it’s course and turn my brass rail that nice weathered brown. As a stained glass artist I have a fair amount of chemical “patinas” so I thought I’d play with them a little and see what happens. Test on a piece of LGB brass rail, light application of 50:50 “Bright Copper” and “Black” Novacan (Brand name) lead/solder patina gave me this… .

. . A longer application gave me this… . .

. . I’m not sure if I am going to do this on my layout or not. It took a fair amount of material and seems to work best on clean rail. I also do not like the idea of that much “acid” being applied outdoors to run into the ground or sit on my plastic ties. I’ll play with the mixtures a bit more and leave a section out over the winter…We’ll see what it looks like in the spring. Had I thought of this before laying the track I would certainly have done it on the bench.

I use Rustoleum Camouflage Brown spray paint, before or after installation. Works like a charm. It protects the ties from UV, too.

I too spray paint the rails and ties with a flat brown and then use acrylics to brush paint the ties another shade of brown.

(http://i542.photobucket.com/albums/gg412/DrGrab/DSC04744.jpg)

I use battery power so no electrons need to get through the paint. Doc Tom

Looks good Tom…I am by no means a ‘rivet counter’ but I like the top of the rail “clean”. It looks like real track.

One of the primary reasons I went with brass rail over nickel/stainless/aluminum/etc. was the appearance. “Silver” rail just does not look right to me.

When I started Garden RR-ing about 6-7 years ago I decided to buy Stainless Steel track.