Large Scale Central

Pros/Cons of wiring DC motors is Series

I am no expert in DC motors, just a hobbyist but I have always heard that multiple DC motors should always be wired in parallel.

Obviously, the top speed would be drastically reduced.

What about torque and ability to tackle grades/long trains?

Effect on BEMF used to trigger chuff sounds?

Won’t the motors run at slightly different speeds causing one to “drag”?

Heat and service life of the motor?

I was about to say “all of the above”, but the speed depends on the voltage. If your track is 12V and your motors are 12V, then each will be getting a piece of the 12V, so they’ll be slow. But if your track power is 24V or 36V, the they will speed up!

This is just speculation. I have never heard of our model motors being run in series.

long ago i took two 6V motors from bump-and-run locos in series for a testbuild of a loco.
the motors ran fine with a LBG trafo. everything else didn’t.

Im gonna throw my two cents in but you can throw it right out as I am far far from any sort of expert. The way I understand it in layman’s terms is that in series, the first motor get all full shot of 12v electricity. The electricity is passed through that motor to the next which receives less due to the first motor robbing some of it. and then do on for motor #3. Now I am not sure if this would be voltage or amperage or what that my ignorance.

In parallel, from my understanding they get an equal does of electricity. And whatever is lost is lost equally between all motors.