Large Scale Central

Now to put metal wheels in 2ndhand CoG "football" car

It arrived in what in 4 minutes will become yesterday, so now the thing is to figure out how to put metal wheels in 2ndhand CoG “football” car purchased from Reindeer Pass.

Have some Bachmann metal wheels on hand and they look like they should fit the journal bearings.

But …

This is the 1st car I’ve ever had by whoever manufactured this and I have zero prior experience with how their sprung trucks come apart.

Back of box says car was produced by REA in partnership with Polk’s.

I know who Polk’s were/are.

Car’s couplers look Aristo.

And I think the car was listed as Aristo.

Just went to look at receipt in box, yeah, car is Aristo.

And that brings up another thing …

Car has knuckle couplers but I want to use hook and loop which my Willow Creek Traction line uses.
(The Bachmann and HLW steam locos use knuckle couplers.
Much like how real life steam roads and traction outfits often used different couplers.)

And the coupler shank and truck drawbar are differently shaped than any of either I have on hand.

Also got the Swiss train people who will eventually be repainted for WCT.

You need to VERY CAREFULLY remove the 2 springs on one side of the truck. If you have never done this, make a very confined space and spread an old white sheet to catch the spring which may SPROING (a technical term). Once the springs are removed, you can slide the old wheels out, and new wheels in.

You should be able to remove one screw to take off the knuckle coupler off, and replace it with the hook & loop coupler.

Actually Forrest you don’t have to disassemble anything. You can just pull the sideframes outward and pop the wheelset out (on one side)then back in. Have done this many times over with no issues. However that is only my experience.

Yeah, I usually do that too. The only danger is if the plastic is old and brittle, the truck side could break.