Large Scale Central

Multi Meters?

I have a Craftmans multi meter that I have been using for over 15 years and now it is acting up. Testing volts is fine but when I switch to the OHMs or resistance settings the digital display jumps all over the place and won’t hold a number. The other day I had a bum coil pack on my truck and by chance had pulled the bad one and 2 good ones but my meter was useless in testing them. I later brought the truck to a auto parts store and their code reader found the bad pack.

I don’t know what is wrong with my meter and I need a new one. What type would you guys recommend keeping in mind that I would be using it on trains, cars, boats, batteries and house.

There are so many different types with a few functions to a dozen and the prices from $20- to well over $100. Which is the best bang for up to $100.

Thanks

Before you buy a new unit, did you put new batteries in the meter? I know that may be dumb question but the batteries go out in my meters and I have to replace them.

Paul

I agree to check the batteries as well. As for meters I buy nothing but Fluke and it sounds like you need a cheap OBDII code reader as well. Besides I stopped ohming out them anyway as the results were usually inconsistent and the code reader tells you what the ECM is seeing anyway.

That’s going to be tough for Todd to test the batteries, as his meter is acting up! (http://largescalecentral.com/externals/tinymce/plugins/emoticons/img/smiley-wink.gif)

For work I use the el cheepo Harbor freight jobbie. Its like $2 to $4, and it reads volts (AC and DC) and ohms. And when I fry it, its no great loss. No, its not quality, but it does the job I need it to do.

Good one Sean. I did test the batteries tonight and put in 2 fresh ones but the problem persists.

This meter also has 2 fuses but checking them without a meter is tough.

Highly likely to be the actual test leads.