Large Scale Central

Log of steps toward operations

Well, it’s too hot here in Southern California to work on the layout so I thought I would start a log on my steps toward running operations on my layout. I’ll make periodic postings of my progress and I welcome feedback. I am an operations rookie, so helpful advice is appreciated!

Before I could begin, I had some basic issues to address:

Step 1. Make all of my rolling stock play well together.

I’ve spent quite a bit of time (several weeks) converting my Accucraft, Bachmann Spectrum and some LGB rolling stock to Kadee couplers at a standard height (using the Kadee coupler height gauge). It took quite a bit of customizing. I called Kadee for some advice but they were not helpful. After some trial and error, I standardized my approach and worked through all of the rolling stock and my two Bachmann engines.

Step 2. Tweak the rolling stock for minimum radius operations

I’ve got some back-to-back turnouts that result in a couple of “S-turn” situations. These require maximum flexibility in the left-right coupler swing on my rolling stock (hope that makes sense). I discovered opportunities to maximize left-right swing on Accucraft rolling stock by slightly “bending” the air hose bibs away from the couplers. On some models, the hose bib is so close to the coupler that it interferes with the swing of the coupler. Also, I had to make sure that the coupler chain does not hang down and interfere with coupler operation.

Step 3. Battery powered R/C control

This is a personal decision. I find the additional flexibility a great advantage. Currently, I have a Bachmann Climax and a Bachmann Connie (with BBT running gear) fully converted to RCS systems.

Step 4. Turnout maintenance.