Large Scale Central

LGB Passenger Car Question

I have a LGB 3082 vestibule combine. I want to put the vestibule end parts on a 3080 coach. How in the world do you get the ‘celing’ of the vestibule ends off? It seems like it’s glued on. I got the roof off and see that there’s screws behind the bottom of the diaphragm. It looks like the diaphragm has heat swaged pins on the back. That had to be done after the car was assembled. Getting that off seems interesting. Has anyone disassembled one of these?

Being a modeler I would see if the roofs are the same length and I would think the same part by LGB, as well as the under frames, etc. I would cutoff one end of both cars bodies and put the end of one on the other, thus ending up with two cars. Now for someone who is not a modeler and working with plastics this can be a challenge for some. A lot of thought is needed here, but I would probably saw the models apart between two of the side boards where the grove is using an X-acto razor saw, thus easier to put the ends back together. There are many articles on extending passenger cars by taking two cars, cutting the cars apart and putting the longer ends together. I have repainted several LGB passenger cars and just about all parts are screwed on and can be removed, there are a few trim parts that are glued on, but mainly just trim parts. I would say what you are asking about is not needed for removal as you will be cutting off the end of the car, thus no need to bother with removing. I might want to cut the ends of the cars off somewhere around 1" or so from the cars back end, not in the corner, but like I said, without the cars in front of me, it’s hard to tell what to do and how to do it. Don’t look to do this in one days work, I would probably take a week or so, as I would want it to look perfect and factory done.
trainman