Large Scale Central

Krauss Maffei ML4000 Hydraulics

Hi everone.
I’m new to this forum and have joined it to get your oppinions on a subject.
I am a model maker in the UK and I’ve been designing and building loco’s up to 5 inch gauge for over 20 years. My speciality is finescale Hydraulic outline models and now I have been comisioned to make a 1/29 model of the first series of Krauss Maffei ML4000’s.

The model is only a nickle silver one-off, but if there was enough interest then I can make it as a master to be cast in injection moulded resin, as I have done many times before with other projects.

It would be a one piece body with metal side frames, leaving the builder to add handrails ect and also the chassis and power trucks.
The cost for the casting is very high, but if there was enough interest then it would be great to put them into a small production run.
The price is a bit hazy as it would depend on whether I sell 5 or 25, but I would hope it would be about £300 maximum.

I have got quite alot of official manuals with works drawings so there is no problem with accurate information.
I would welcome any idea’s and constructive criticism from you all.
Thanks Rob

Rob,
That’s one butt-ugly engine, so I doubt anyone would want one. :slight_smile: :slight_smile:
Heck, even SP got rid of 'em.
jb

I’m sure some people are interested as it is different and unusual.
Rob…any pictures of your previous projects?
Ralph

Thats just different enough that I bet people would buy em.

I had no idea what this was. Found this on a brass loco maker’s website…

(http://www.divisionpoint.com/photos/D+RGW-SP_KM/D+RGW_4001b.jpg)

Odd - That JPG file doesn’t display as a picture without the img tags. There is a + in the filename, that’s most likely the problem.

I didn’t even know Rio Grande had any!
Learn something new every day.

Remember that ugly Alco D (something)?
I’ll look for a pic, unless someone beats me to it.

jb

John Bouck said: