Large Scale Central

I need HELP for a train for a Miniature Golf Course

Hello Gentleman!
I work for a small non-profit in Ronceverte West Virginia, and we are designing and constructing an outdoor miniature golf course. This course will be located in the city park and open to the public, so it is going to be more than a hobby course. The course will mostly represent the history of our small town, and the railroad was a big part, specifically Chesapeake @ Ohio.
I have very little model railroading experience and have many questions that I can’t find (or understand when I do find) answers.

Here is what I found so far:
G-scale is built to be weather resistant and is the most used for garden trains.
G-scale is 1:22.5.
It is possible to run a train without powered tracks if I buy the right locomotive.
G-scale is very available, and not ridiculously expensive.

That’s it. That’s all I really know so far.

Here are some of the questions:
In inches, how large are the dimensions of the average locomotive?
How available are C & O themed cars and props?
Will g-scale track hold up if I have the track crossing my walking path? Do they make special sections for that purpose? If yes, are functional railroad crossing barriers and the track to trigger them available?
Can this train handle a slope? If yes, how steep (assume 6-8 cars)?

I have lots more, but this should get me started. I thank you for your time and effort to educate me.

Hello Mark,

That’s a big list of fun questions about an amazing project! How cool! And you’ll be getting a lot of responses!

I wish I had time at the moment to dive in, but since there are lots of true experts here for now I’ll just say a big Welcome Aboard!!

Cliff

welcome from me too.

that depends very much on the era. roughly from 8 to 25".
best, you search some pics of the real locos in question, show them here. that would give you feedback what loco from which company (of what size) would be the most fitting.