Large Scale Central

Hybrid Adhesives

DISCLAIMER: I have no financial or personal interest in products discussed in this thread. I do not wish to engage in arguments over which is better. Everyone can make their own informed decisions.

As many know, I work in the sign industry as a fabricator. We use lots of products that are generally not available to the public; or are a priced so high as to not be practical for modeling. High Tech adhesives usually fall into this category. I have been using several new structural adhesives from Loctite. One of them is available from Amazon and other sources for under $20 per package.

Loctite HY 4070 is a clear, two part hybrid structural adhesive that is available in small .4 Oz. syringes. 4070 is a hybrid of cyanoacrylate (CA) and acrylic epoxy. It has a very short fixture time and attains a structural bond in less than 15 minutes. It is very versatile, I have successfully used it to bond acrylics, foamed PVC board and metal in any combination. I suspect it will also bond to styrene and wood, but have not tried that yet It is ideal for small detail or repair jobs with its small tip (about .5mm) and easy to handle syringe. It’s gel consistency will fill gaps. I have used it to fill gaps up to 1.5mm.

One drawback is the need to use mixing nozzles. They are not terribly expensive and easy to change; but if you put the syringe down for 4-6 minutes after use, you will need a new mixing nozzle to continue as it will have cured in the nozzle. Nozzles are also available in 5 packs on Amazon.

My Loctite rep has warned me that some on-line sellers are delivering outdated product; or product nearing expiration. The source I have been using has consistently delivered fresh product with close to 1 year shelf life. I will share the Amazon seller in a PM if anyone needs it. There are commercial sources as well, but may shy away from selling to individuals. This IS NOT available at your local hardware or big box store.