Large Scale Central

How to properly test a live steamer on air

Here is my question: How to properly test a live steamer on air?

Where to insert the air? Directly into the boiler where water would have been added?

Do you lubricate the cylinders? How?

What other procedures should be done?

Please help, I’m totally new to this part of model railroading.

What make is your live steamer ? If Roundhouse drop them a line, they are a very helpful company. they test all their products on air prior to shipping.

Normally when you see videos of live steam locos running on compressed air the line is attached direct to the boiler filler. In normal operation, with a gas poker fired loco as opposed to a coal fired one (which has a separate firebox), when you fill with water you draw off a proportion to leave a space where the steam forms within the boiler barrel and then passes through the superheater pipe (if fitted) to the cylinders. Assuming you have a gas “poker” fired loco steam is generated and boiler pressure is maintained until the boiler runs out of water or the gas runs out. With a coal fired loco the water it is constantly refilled to avoid the firebox crown being exposed. As you are going to power with a flow of already compressed air you will feed that at the normal pressure the loco is designed/needs to raise in steam to function and at the right flow rate to maintain that pressure depending on the amount the regulator is opened.

I am not sure about the need to lubricate the pistons - as you are running with cold air the only heat you will be generating in the cylinder will be from the friction of the cylinder seals against the cylinders bore, you are not going through a compression cycle in the cylinder and generating heat as you would with a compressor or putting hot superheated steam through them.

I purchased a Ruby #1 from RLD Hobbies. It will arrive in a few days. Thanks for your help.