Large Scale Central

Help Identifying A Unique Lantern

I have been collecting lanterns for several years along with a good sized library on lighting. I got this one because “I Need This” and am not sure what the extensions are for. They are not pointed so they don’t get pushed into dirt.
It is a Dietz Standard 39.
Obviously they go into something, but what? Can’t find this in any of my reference books or the Dietz catalogue. Somebody here knows what this is for.

Excuse me, I have to go to the doghouse now for getting a large box before Christmas.

2 Likes

Snow or water legs??

Is this the type were the fount is connected to those legs to fill the pot?

i have never seen anything like it, but it could have been a modification made by a crew member for a specific purpose, maybe used as part of a crossing shanty’s tools?

Al P.

Legs are not pointed, so you would not push it into something.

I have a guess. The mighty PRR had many things like lanterns, tools and even push brooms made to their specs. Since you are a lantern collector you might even have a PRR lantern.

If the legs are the correct size to set that lantern into any cars coupler, then that would make that a good ETD for any last car on the line.

Good idea, I had not thought of that. The prongs are about 4 3/4" apart.

Possibly a caboose marker lantern? I’ve asked on a couple RR signal groups I’m on to see if anyone has any ideas.

Guessing since it’s red, it’s used as a MOW red flag marker. The feet are for driving into ballast. Red flags/lights are used to show where MOW crews are working and could either be inside the rail for a hard don’t go past me, or outside the rail for get permission first.

It would be hard to push this in anywhere. The ends of the prongs are flat.
I am leaning towards putting it on the coupler, an ancient EOT device.
Again, this is not in any Dietz catalogue.