Large Scale Central

GS gondola

Hi guys,
I have a technical problem I have not been able to figure out, so I am hoping some of the more seasoned 3D hands can give me some guidance or assistance.
About fifteen years ago I got an AutoCAD file for one of these gondolas. The model looks like this in AutoCAD:

I’ve been using AutoCAD since 1985 but have little experience with 3D. I have Sketchup, AutoCAD 2022 and Autodesk Fusion 360 available to me.
Here’s how the model looks in Chitubox:

What I’d like to do is produce these in 1:29 scale. Unfortunately it would have to be done in three equal pieces to fit my 3D printer’s build space. Do any of you now how to break up solid models into smaller pieces? Do you know how to get the parts scaled up to the correct size for my scale?
Thanks in advance,
Matt

To cut the model into 3 pieces you can use the slice command in AutoCAD. This video makes it look pretty simple. How to Cut a 3D Object in AutoCAD using Slice Command - YouTube
Assuming the model is HO scale you will need to scale it up by 300.3% for 1:29 scale.

I hope you figure this out soon, I need a few.

http://thomas-messmer.com/index.php/20-free-knowledge/howtos/3d-printing/69-split-3d-objects

I use meshlab for this sort of thing (if I correctly understand your issue)

Thanks Dan, I will give that a shot.

Thanks Steve! I will try that if I can’t figure it out in AutoCAD.

For scaling Cura has an option to scale the input file before you generate the G-code file.
It doesn’t do the math for you so you need to do some calculation to get it to a percentage (IMS).

Not sure what scale you are starting with. But here is a cheat sheet I devised for me to go from scale to scale on my various designs. If your design is say 1:1 and you want 1:29 then reduce the design TO (not by) 3.4%.

I use the program “MatterControl” for all my resizing or breaking apart designs into smaller units. What I don’t think it does though is split bodies. I haven’t figured it out if it does.