Large Scale Central

Getting started with CNC routing

While 3d Printing has a certain attraction, I think I might get more use from 3d routing, then branch off into 3d printing, most likely farming those tasks out to the likes of Jawstec for the final product.

Where to begin? I reached out to Cliff Jennings, and he suggested I start a thread.

Eventually, I’ll have to decide on a machine, and there are a number of well reviewed machines for less than $300 US

I know I will need some software: something easy to learn and use. I have some experience with the likes of Visio.

From a 50k ft. view: I know that…

I need to specify to some software where to start a router bit in X,Y, and Z coordinates and do this for each movement of the bit.

I need to load this instruction file into a controller that in turn tells axial stepper motors where to place the ‘head’ of the CNC machine in these XYZ dimensions.

The question(s) are about how/what to piece together to come up with a solution that will help me create the parts I need, and do I need to learn/study to get there?

Thanks in advance,

-Wes

I have an older Probotix Fireball V90 CNC machine. It was a kit but I don’t think it’s available anymore. One of my all time favorite tools!

I mostly use it to cut out sheet styrene to make buildings for my layout.

The kit came with everything, I just had to supply a PC and install LinuxCNC on it (real time Ubuntu, its free) The PC connects to the stepper motor control box, cables then go to the three stepper motors.

Basically you load a Gcode file into the LinuxCNC app and it does all the work of moving the motors while cutting.

To make the gcode file, I use two apps, both free software.

I use InkScape to prepare a flat drawing of the walls and window openings. I export that as a dxf file.