Large Scale Central

Euro or american track

i am new to g gage ,what is the diffence between euro and american g gage track ??? will thay work togather ? thanks bobgfla

Both are compatible…The difference is in the number of ties per foot and the “spike” molding on some brands. AML (brand) “American” has 14 ties per foot and the “Euro” has 11.

I should add that you can mix and match but there will be an obvious miss-match in appearance. I use the “Euro” on my narrow gauge layout as the fewer ties per foot looks a little more “back-woodsy” to my eye.

Euro has 11 ties per foot and American has 14 I think…

Mark V said:
Both are compatable...The difference is in the number of ties per foot and the "spike" molding on some brands. AML "American" has 14 ties per foot and the "Euro has 11.
And the ties are a little wider on the Euro.......... Ralph

Good point Ralph…Another reason I prefer to use the “Euro” for “narrow gauge” trains.

Just to add the difference euro is also narrow gauge and US is standard gauge. I made this mistake when I started. I model US narrow gauge. I thought I need US style track. I was wrong and should have gotten Euro. Really when it is all balasted you cant even tell.

I have a mix of LGB and Aristocraft track on my layout. The Aristo euro or 11— has the same type of tie spacing as the LGB so it looks good together. I do have one section with a 10’ aristocraft horseshoe curve and that section has the american tie arrangement and I don’t like it as much since it looks really busy with all those narrow ties but it was a good price when I bought the box so I couldn’t pass it up. I don’t have any of the USAT track so I don’t how their ties match up. Those 3 major brands will work together.