Large Scale Central

DCC Turntable power

I am about to start building the Turntable for my Indoor Fn3 Layout and I am using CVP Products Easy DCC system and what to know what the common practice for powering the turntable and changing the polarity to match the various track that radiate off it as it rotates around. my turntable will use a hand crank to rotate it. is it as simple as just wiring a DPDT center off switch wired like a reversing switch? I am not interested in making it overly complicated or adding electronic auto reversing modules.

Any help will be appreciated

Dan

is it as simple as just wiring a DPDT center off switch wired like a reversing switch?

Well, yes, and it gave my brain a small workout to think about it.

I’m not a DCC expert but I believe you have constant DC voltage on the track (+signals.) Consider when a loco drives on to the turntable and turns completely around 180 degrees to leave the way it arrived. From a DCC perspective, it is still going forward. But the track is flipped and the DC on the turntable is now opposite the polarity of the entry rails. So you need to switch it with the DPDT reversing switch.

(Looking forward to hearing the experts opinion - whether I got that right!)

https://dccwiki.com/Turntables

And how do you address the track polarity of the storage tracks. This is where the DCC reversing sensor works well on the turn table track, or the truntable track needs to supply power to each storage track when selected/stopped.

You have two situations…

A - Simply using the turntable as a movable bridge to enter the roundhouse going forward, or reverse if you backed on to the table.

B - Using the turrntable to turn the locomotive and/or enter the roundhouse in reverse.

Situation A only requires the roundhouse tracks into be wired the same as the approach and the table. Situation B requires a polarity swap, most simply done with a DPDT wired for polarity swap.