Large Scale Central

DC Analog old fashion wiring but automated

.Fiends looking for some suggestions on how to have two trains running opposite directions with passing tracks to be able to run them with out having to manually do the switching and stopping. I am not using a command rail wiring system. (in the past I found out the hard way that doesn’t work very well) I am using DC double insulated two cab operation on the main line. I have thought about reed switches, but I have never used them before, and I thought at aristocraft, but hell pretty soon you won’t be able to find parts, any suggestion based upon the old style. Also for those passing tracks, I plan to have the diverging opposite of each other so that the turnout is always set for that direction, when the train comes out of the passing track the turnout spring will allow the train to move right on through, example use two right turn outs. and then two left turnouts. only part of the track that really needs changing as in a reserves loop so to say is the single track they both share. hope this made sense thanks

A magnet on the bottom of the engine can make a reed sensor on the track control a DPDT latching relay and change the track polarity. The LGB EPL drive (12010) with the 12070 attachment can do this.

If you set the stop sections to be fed with a diode, this would automate the trains and only one power pack wold be needed.

you can use either magnets and reeds, or toddalins system. (he calls it B.U.M.P.A.S.S.)
instead of reeds, he uses short isolated pieces of rail, that trigger the various functions.
the reeds are activated by magnets, the contactrails by any metalic wheel. (so, if you use metal wheels on all your cars, i would propose to use reeds)

i am building just now the second layout with just the two directional traffic, you are asking about.

what i do for that goal:

1. chainging the polarity of the wire connections on half of the locos involved.