Large Scale Central

Custom Heads for Large Scale Figures

I just started painting the figures for my repair shed project. I will be the first to admit that painting figures is not one of my strong suites. I can get by … but just barely.

Sometimes I want to change the look of a figure – just so it doesn’t look identical to the ones everyone else has on their layouts. Here is how I do it.

Boomer will be happy seeing all of this model mayhem and carnage…I know he likes to operate on figures! Easiest way is to create individual heads and then just do a simple, painless head transplant on the patient.

The heads are formed from small marble-sized balls of Sculpey Premo polymer clay. The toothpicks provide a convenient holder while doing the molding and carving. I make flexible head molds from “Amazing Mold Putty” using various action figure toys (from Wal-Mart) as the models. I can squeeze the mold to elongate or fatten the head shape, and then customize the head details with a toothpick or sewing needle.

The finished heads are baked in my “easy-bake” toaster oven and then attached to the figures. Seams are blended with acrylic modeling paste before painting. The same technique can be used to replace hands and feet, or to create hats and other accessories. You can even get really creative and build a “mix-and-match” assortment of body parts. Then you can quickly put together a custom figure from the assortment of separate heads, torsos, arms, legs, and extremities. Have fun playing doctor!

Bob

OK, Bob, the good news is that their is professional help available. The bad new is that it is not available here.

Dang, those look good. Heads are the toughest thing to do for me…

seeing this crowd of heads, i got just two questions:

which scale are they exactly?
would you consider to make a bunch of heads for selling?

Very clever, took me a couple of reads to understand your ‘carving’ is just details.