Large Scale Central

Crusher fines

Hi, I’m new to the hobby. I live in So. Calif. Where would I begin to look for crusher fines as described in several beginning books? Thx

More than likely at a place that sells bark, rock, top soil, etc.
Then I riddle mine thru a 1/4 inch riddle made up of screen.
Any crushed 1/4 or 3/8 minus rock will do.
I happen to get basalt (same thing the real RR use up here.) It’s a dark gray to black.
But you can use granite or whatever.

John,
You took Doug’s cherry!

Welcome Doug
You wanna talk rock …you need to talk to Ray
:wink:

Doug, a bulk aggregate plant that sells sand, stone and gravel would be a place to look. The aggregate you are looking for is 1/4 limestone down to power. Around here is called 1/4 (quarter) down. You can also purchase this limestone at asphalt paving companies like APAC.

Welcome to LSC Doug :smiley:

Here in Southern New England the stuff under 1/4 inch is called Stone Sand. There are two other versions with larger stones called 3/4 Process and 1 Inch Process that I use for embankments and fills.

I used to buy a similar product at Home Depot called paver sand. It was made by Old Castle under the Mr. Granite Step 1 and Step 2 brands. I think that is a very regional product. Home depot stopped carrying it here two years ago. Now I go to a stone plant to and buy Stone Sand. I get a half a ton for about the same price as I was paying home depot for two 50 pound bags.

Doug,

This is very regional and changes through out the country as does the ballast on the big railroads. Many years ago, I tried to buy the exact same thing Jon was using. Came home with two bags of beach sand. What sells in one place is different in another. Around here we use - ag lime, slag sand and chicken grit.