Large Scale Central

Beginner builds a railway

In the Fall of 2006 I decided to build a garden railway in my backyard. Being a novice I needed help. I visited this and other forums, subscribed to Garden Railways Magazine and joined a garden rail club. The first step of course was to prepare a site which involved taking out some bushes, building a low retaining wall and leveling the surface. This was done in the Fall of 2006.

Looking good! You’ve got the foundation for a great future railroad. Keep on going…and for darn sure post pictures…:slight_smile:

In the spring of 2007 I was ready to begin the track laying. An article in the February 2006 Garden Railways Magazine, “The saga of the Virginia & DACS Railroad” gave me a number of ideas. I modified their track plan to fit my space, took their storage tunnel idea and adopted their method of track laying (or at least my understanding of the method.) TRACK PLAN

STORAGE TUNNEL

Thanks for the encouragement Warren. I’ll post a few more photos today and more later. At first I was going to have a water feature on the mountain over my storage tunnel but I was too anxious to get started on track so that will have to wait for a future date. I decided a dry wash with a bridge would suffice for this year. BUILDING THE MOUNTAIN