Large Scale Central

Battery lesson

Gentlemen of the jury,

The more I study batteries, the more confused I get. (Easily done at my age! :slight_smile: :slight_smile: )

What kind of batteries do you use?
Gel-cel (Lead acid)
Ni-cad
Li-Ion
Ni-MH
Other

Give me a lesson, please!
Why you use what you use.
This is a poll, sort of.

Thanks
TOG

The only battery powered locomotive I currently have uses 2 12v deep cycle batteries. But I don’t think they will fit in your locomotives. :frowning:

I am no expert on modern batteries and I have (almost) no intention of using battery power on my layout, but if I did I would strongly favour lead-acid. They seem to be the most robust. Think about how hard it is to hurt a car battery. The only caution I know of is that they don’t like being left in a discharged state for long periods.

I’ve had good service from Lithium batteries, but they were low power camera batteries.

I’d avoid Ni-Cads like the plague. Even the newer ones that claim not to have a memory come with a set of recharging instructions that I find … tedious.

I expect Tony will have some more specific recommendations. He is very experienced in these matters.

Hello John.

I can give you an opinion based upon my 20+ years experience handling most types of batteries and Large Scale locos.
I have no vested interest in any of the chemistries.
I do make a NiCd trickle charger but I don’t really care if sell any more of them or not.

NiCd.
I use and recommend NiCd batteries only where a relatively high current draw is required. Specifically Sub C cells made up into packs of a suitable voltage.
Whilst I acknowledge NiCd cells can develop a memory if ram charged when only partially discharged, my experience is that the momory effect does NOT happen provided;
a) you charge them at the recommended 10% rate for the recommended period of time. It has been my experience they can be left on the 10% charger for a extended period without any ill effects.