Large Scale Central

Barry's Big Trains (Colorado & Northwestern, # 5) Found On E

Hello, just us again,

Some time back I was searching EBay for a part for a locomotive and in my search I happened across this locomotive. The Ebay listing showed this Barry’s Big Trains 4-6-0 locomotive, uncompleted with various issues. Now as you may already know or if you have read previous posts that we have put on this site, you will realize the Barry and I were close friends and when I saw this locomotive listed, I had to find a way to obtain it for our children’s model railroad and train safety program, in honor of Barry and all he did for us over the years.

In spite of the work that needed to be done to it, the price was fair, so I took the dive and bought it. We didn’t really have the funds at the time but I couldn’t pass it up. I have a lot of experience working on Barry’s equipment but I am by no means a total expert, however, I felt I could do the repairs. When the locomotive arrived, it had a broken cow catcher, a broken headlight that didn’t work, minor damage to the tender, extended coupler length, a few missing parts, a broken front truck assembly, gauge issues and it was out of quarter. Some of this was caused by shipping damage . On top of that, it needed decals to finish it up. I knew that Stan Cedarleaf could get me the decals but the rest of these problems were a bit to digest and I knew it would take some time to get them all fixed but I also knew we could handle the job.