Large Scale Central

Aristo Slo-Mo Switch Machines

A promo from AristoCraft arrived late today - pretty spectacular from my POV, & wonder what you think.

Large Rad switches in SS for 39.99 and slo mo sw machines 10.99.

I’m not connected with the company in any way… I would like them to survive, tho - ;>)

I’m posting here to ask, do any of you guys have any experience with these slo mo sw machines? indoors? out?

http://www.aristocraft.com/ART11298-SWITCH-MACHINE-REM-SLOW-MOTION_p_405.html

Wottya think of 'em? Thanks!

John,

Just to clarify, I have no experience with these switches.
I did however use slow motion switch machines when I was working in ON3.

But. I always wondered what the point was of a slow motion switch machine.
I understand the objection to the “snap” switches that sound like a pencil breaking.
but slow motion doesn’t really make any sense.

I have never seen on film or in live action a brakeman, etc. throwing a switch machine
handle in ----- really-----slow------motion----and----the----points----slowly------closing----.

Just a thought :slight_smile: :wink:

Rick

John:

Thanks for the information & links, but . . .

I don’t see that the switches are ‘large radius.’ They are shown with other 2’ radius stuff, so I would assume the are also very small radius. And, typical of much of Aristocraft’s current listings, the $39.99 switches show “Out of Stock.”

It doesn’t matter if they are only a dollar each: If they don’t have them, they are overpriced! :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Happy RRing,

Jerry

Jerry -

I found the Wide R and Wide L listed at the $39.99 price and in-stock. This is very tempting.

http://www.aristocraft.com/ART20370-SS-SWITCH-WIDE-MANUAL-RIGHT-US_p_448.html

Jon Radder said:
Jerry -

I found the Wide R and Wide L listed at the $39.99 price and in-stock. This is very tempting.

Wow,
That is tempting. But I have to do some fund raising first :wink:
I’d really like to pick up at least 4 of these.
Ralph