Large Scale Central

Another new guy!

Hi guys! Yes, it’s another new guy. From Ventura County, California which is just north of Los Angeles County. I’ve been visiting LSC for a couple of years now and have been getting great ideas and tips from all of you. This is my second layout. The first one, in another house, was about 120 feet. I learned a lot and am trying to apply it to the new line. This is a new line! The first track was laid in March 2010 after several months of prep work. The mainline is 360 feet of track plus a switching yard and several sidings. It is located on a side hill above a driveway with long grades (3% max.) and 9 ½ foot minimum diameter curves. A complete circuit on the mainline moves the train from a lower level to upper level of our property. A PVC “ladder” system is used extensively for roadbed construction. Limited track power is available, but battery power will provide the greatest flexibility. The lower terminus is located in a metal workshop. Here are some pictures: No structures yet. I’ve been concentrating on laying track, moving dirt & rock, irrigation, electrical, etc. LOTS MORE TO DO! Upper loop with temporary dwarf spruces to be relocated later:

Here’s a look at the back side of the upper loop:

The mainline loses elevation as it curves around toward the shop:

Here’s a beauty shot of my scratch-built all steel four section bridge. It’s a 10 foot diameter curve and this is the only way I could make the switchback in the limited space. 330 individually cut pieces and about 600 welds!

Here’s a view looking north:

The last four weekends have been spent adding four cubic yards of dirt and about two tons of rock. Here are some shots of the layout:

The PVC ladder system works great. Slowly, I am masking it or replacing sections with bridges, etc. Regards, Joe

Hey Joe welcome aboard and BTW your layout looks “Fabulous”. Your pictures will be a great addition to the site.

Chuck

Welcome, Joe.