Large Scale Central

Aluminum track and switches

Sorry I jumped into another post. Since I am new to posting I didn’t know the proper etiquet. To pick up where I left off I am new to garden railroading and am concerned that I don’t make a major mistake on laying my first sections of track. I plan to run batter power with RC on my trains. From what I have read running track power has too many headaches. With the current cost of track I have decided to use aluminum. My first concern is whether I should go with code 250 or code 332. What is the best choice for ease of long term maintenance? Either looks good to me and I think either should be OK for train operation. I am just concerned that code 250 might be a little flimsy and easily bent and twisted. The cost difference between the two is not that great. What manufacturer do most of you recommend for rail and ties? I want to start with molded plastic tie strips and may graduate to hand laid down the road. I plan to initally purchase a set of switches for a passing siding. Than I might consider trying to make a switch on my own. Read several articles and I think I can handle it. I am hoping to get a loop of track down before Thanksgiving. I live in the Dover Delaware area and the winters around here are fairly mild. I was thinking of floating the track but it sounds like most of you use “Ladder” construction. I have to read up on that. Is there a site with information I can log on to? I want to order rail, tie strips and switches ASAP so your comments would be greatly apreciated.

Big John

Hi, John,