Large Scale Central

ADDING R/C AND POWER TO NEW SMALL UK DIESEL SWITCHER

I’ve just bought a digitally printed small diesel switcher (UK style) which is unbuilt as of now. The kit also included a 4 wheel / motor chassis. However, looking down the “track” I’ll need to provide (a) power to the chassis motor and (b) a remote control to adjust FWD/REV as well as SPEED in each direction plus OFF. I’ve got no experience with R/C of any type so am at a loss as how best to accomplish this. I did order (4) Li 1.5V batteries with recharger which will be located inside the hood of the loco. The loco vendor showed me a pic. of his loco with both batteries and controls all located inside the hood which measure 2.375" x 2.5" x 3.25". Seems like a lot to jam inside but suppose it can be done. I could also use a trailing box car to carry some items but would prefer not to.

Any and all suggestions welcome.

Thanks-

Robin

Welcome Aboard!

Robin

Robin, call Don Sweet at RCS of New England. Don will work with you to find the best solution for you, and provide all the help he can. https://rcsofne.com/

Hi Robin,

If speed control is not that important, you could manually control with a DPDT switch and GScale Graphics Magnetic Critter Controller (Magnetic Critter Control (gscalegraphics.net)). I am an electronics dolt, and we were able to install this wonderful little device into a PIKO “clean machine” in an afternoon.

Do note that you can set the controller’s maximum speed and acceleration rate, so there is some “speed control,” just not while you are running!

Eric

Hi Robin,

If speed control is not that important, you could manually control with a DPDT switch and GScale Graphics Magnetic Critter Controller (Magnetic Critter Control (gscalegraphics.net)). I am an electronics dolt, and we were able to install this wonderful little device into a PIKO “clean machine” in an afternoon.