Large Scale Central

A Total Beginner to battery power

Greetings one and all. I own a B&B with a train that runs around the ceiling and I’m just tired of the issues with track power. I’ve been considering going with battery power but I know nothing about converting locomotives. Furthermore, I have absolutely no soldering skills if that’s what’s required. I tried to replace the trucks on a caboose model where the existing wires are soldered on and all I did was melt a lot of plastic parts and eventually throw the poor caboose against the wall.

I also have an odd collection of locomotives. I have one of those “Stainz” circus trains, a Bachmann Annie set and a Bachmann 55 ton Shay plus an eggliner. Obviously not prototype.

Is there just some company that will DO this for me - that’s my style? Or does anyone near Sacramento wanna do some trade and actually sleep in an authentic caboose? This layout is at the Featherbed Railroad (http://www.featherbedrailroad.com).

Well, you have Dave Goodson of NWRCS up near Seattle WA. Then there’s Don Sweet of NERCS in NH. Plus one of the advertisers on here http://rctrains.com/ can do it for you. And probably a few more I didn’t mention.

Tony Barthel said:

Greetings one and all. I own a B&B with a train that runs around the ceiling and I’m just tired of the issues with track power. I’ve been considering going with battery power but I know nothing about converting locomotives.

Is there just some company that will DO this for me - that’s my style? Or does anyone near Sacramento wanna do some trade and actually sleep in an authentic caboose? This layout is at the Featherbed Railroad (http://www.featherbedrailroad.com).

Tony,

Your B&B looks gorgeous, and if I was in CA I would be there in a jiffy to sample a caboose bedroom and to fix your trains!

But I’m not in CA (FL & MD) so all I can do is offer some comments.