Large Scale Central

Table Saw

In my quest to refine my skill as a scratch builder I am looking for decent table saw to aid in my endeavors…just want an opine from anyone regarding the Craftsman Evol that Ace Hardware currently has on sale for $130. It has a 15 amp motor and 10 inch blade. I’ve also looked at the Ryobi at HD for the same price…they look almost identical.

I’m not planning to build any homes or do professional work and am looking mainly at being able to rip some occasional lumber for my railroad…I appreciate your thoughts.

Thanks,

Richard

If they look identical then they probably are rebranded by the manufacturer.

I have the Ryobi from 5 years ago. It’s adequate, the stand is shaky, but otherwise I’ve not stopped it and I’m ripping and cross cutting 3" thick planks of old cedar.

Keep it dry, the main bearing got wet and now she squeals some (http://www.largescalecentral.com/externals/tinymce/plugins/emoticons/img/smiley-yell.gif), but hey that’s life.

John

I have never personally used one but have two friends who have a Rigid contractors table saw and they like them for the kind of stuff your talking about doing. I have an old craftsman 10 inch table saw and i don’t care for it at all. But I also ask a heck of a lot of it as I doo more than the average wood working.

Once you do get one, what ever one, I have two suggestions. First if it isn’t already switch it to a link belt system. I need to do this to mine, they run far smoother and when doing small cuts like scale lumber.

Next keep blades razor sharp. Either have them professionally sharpened or buy a sharpener. I have them sharpened and it costs about 1\2 of what new blade costs. I want a sharpener. This does a lot of things but mainly it saves fingers. You don’t want to shove wood through it. It should cut like butter.