Forums Power and Sound Power and Sound DCC
  • Topic: Revolution

    Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • November 23, 2017 10:35 PM EST
      • Branchport, NY
         
      • Posts
        124
      • Thanks
        7
      • Thanked
        2
      • Reputation
        Neutral

      Revolution

      Does anyone know anything about Revolution DCC?

      Tom

       

    • November 23, 2017 10:44 PM EST
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        2,941
      • Thanks
        123
      • Thanked
        161
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Just enough to tell you it's not DCC, it's a stand alone system. Fewer bells and whistles and cheaper, I think. Spun off from Crest electronics which was affiliated with Aristocraft. has been picked up by it's developer and is now a healthy product and the sounds are improving.

      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • November 24, 2017 12:45 PM EST
      • Curmudgeon at Large, Lynn Haven, FL
         
      • Posts
        1,919
      • Thanks
        48
      • Thanked
        92
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Tom,

       

      Revolution is NOT DCC.  Revolution is a proprietary control system originally developed and marketed by Aristo Craft under the Crest brand. When Aristo Craft folded up their tent, the owner tried to continue the Crest product line and soon closed that as well. As with most things these days the actual engineering and manufacturing was done by far east company, in this case in Korea. Today the new product under the 'Revolution' banner is manufactured and now supported by the same folks that did the engineering and manufacturing in the first place. Although I chose another system to go with for reason that were relevant at the time, today I would seriously consider the Revolution system for locomotive control. It works well with constant DC track power and either a track side controller (like our standard old time power packs) or an on board controller (mounted in the locomotive). Revolution will also work well with a battery power system, eliminating the wiring issues associated with track power.

       

      I am in no way putting DCC down, it is a very viable control system, one I know very little about. I hope this will put some clarity in the Revolution story.

       

      Bob C.

      ____________________________________

      We don't stop playing with trains because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing with trains.....

       

    • November 24, 2017 2:32 PM EST
      • Branchport, NY
         
      • Posts
        124
      • Thanks
        7
      • Thanked
        2
      • Reputation
        Neutral

      I am well aware of what the current Train Engineer Revolution is and what it does. I have been using it since it became available from Aristocraft. I agree that is not DCC.

      Several days ago the folks at Precision RC revised the “Products” tab. There are now three sub categories under the “Product” tab. You will find “Revolution”, “Revolution DCC” and “Accessories”.

      A few days ago there were a transmitter and a receiver shown under the “Revolution DCC” tab. There were some specifications described – such as CV’s and DCC operation.

      On Thursday, 11/23, these were gone. If you select “Revolution DCC” it says “There no products matching the selection”.

      The “Revolution DCC” tab remains. Here is the link to the “Revolution DCC” tab. Revolution DCC


      I now ask again if anyone knows anything about ‘Revolution DCC’. Maybe some of you that appear to have much closer ties to Train Engineer Revolution can extract some information.

      Tom

       

    • November 24, 2017 4:09 PM EST
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,166
      • Thanks
        77
      • Thanked
        272
      • Reputation
        Respected

      I'll call in next week, clearly something being planned.

       

      Greg

      This post was edited by Greg Elmassian at November 24, 2017 6:51 PM EST
      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • November 24, 2017 6:30 PM EST
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        2,941
      • Thanks
        123
      • Thanked
        161
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      http://www.revoelectronics.com/catalogsearch/result/?q=DCC&cat=

       

       

      I entered dcc in the search and this board showed up ... does say dcc and 5 amp.

      This post was edited by John Caughey at November 24, 2017 6:34 PM EST
      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • November 26, 2017 12:00 AM EST
      • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
         
      • Posts
        534
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        24
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      That looks like a combination of the Plug and Play Board for the Revolution receiver, and the PWC to Linear DC Board.

      That would be handy for USA Trains radio control conversions. With Linear DC power the lights should work properly.

    • November 26, 2017 1:00 PM EST
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,166
      • Thanks
        77
      • Thanked
        272
      • Reputation
        Respected

      Well, reading the description, it is not a filter but a DC to DC converter, so whatever you throw at it, it produces DC

      You only got the "hit" because of the 5th line below... do not think this is the DCC page that showed up for a short time.

      The issue with USA Trains is that there are on-board voltage regulators and powering them requires electrical surgery to "remove" them from the power of the USAT "motherboard".

      So maybe this takes the PWM output of the Revolution motor output and turns it into smoothly varying DC, we shall see... I'd like to see the wiring diagram.

       

      Greg

      • Built in PWC to Linear DC/DC active voltage convert.
      • Fast response to load fluctuations.
      • Constant voltage is maintained even with various load changes.
      • Works with any company's model trains, sound cards, and light bulbs.
      • Works well with any input  power such as DCC/AC/DC/Battery Power.
      • Output: Active Linear voltage.
      • Current Rating:5Amp
      • Over temperature protect
      • Over current protect
      • Low voltage output(+5V) for convenient LED usage.
      • Output tap for Smoke generator and Sound card.
      • Very Sipmle wiring for "USA TRAIN" (TM).

       

      This post was edited by Greg Elmassian at November 26, 2017 1:09 PM EST
      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • November 26, 2017 5:30 PM EST
      • Berkshire, Ma.
         
      • Posts
        639
      • Thanks
        84
      • Thanked
        31
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Paul Norton said:

      That looks like a combination of the Plug and Play Board for the Revolution receiver, and the PWC to Linear DC Board.

      That would be handy for USA Trains radio control conversions. With Linear DC power the lights should work properly.

       

      Paul this Board come out earlier this year I have 2 got them from RLD. I wanted something to run at Stan's on his DCC and it works well on DCC, DC and Battery, have not put into a USA yet, right now in 2 Bachman.

      Richard  

       

    • November 26, 2017 6:10 PM EST
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,166
      • Thanks
        77
      • Thanked
        272
      • Reputation
        Respected

      Yeah, the new board pictured is an "active" board, and it has more features than the simple filter function pictured above.

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • November 27, 2017 5:16 PM EST
      • Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
         
      • Posts
        534
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        24
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Greg said: The issue with USA Trains is that there are on-board voltage regulators and powering them requires electrical surgery to "remove" them from the power of the USAT "motherboard".

       

      So maybe this takes the PWM output of the Revolution motor output and turns it into smoothly varying DC, we shall see... I'd like to see the wiring diagram.

       

       

      Agreed! USAT's programmable LM317 voltage regulator did not like PWC. The only time the lights came on was at top voltage, because there no voltage variance to confuse the LM317.

       

      The little battery power and radio control car shown was for an LGB 0-6-0. But I did try it on a USA Train diesel that had MU connectors added, and the lights worked fine. So I guess the filters did their job.

       

      My preferred method was to gut the USAT diesel electronics and add my own LED circuit boards. I found that really extended battery run times. People blamed the USAT motors, but I think the USAT circuit boards and light bulbs had more to do with it.

      This post was edited by Paul Norton at November 27, 2017 5:17 PM EST
    • November 27, 2017 10:14 PM EST
      • Branchport, NY
         
      • Posts
        124
      • Thanks
        7
      • Thanked
        2
      • Reputation
        Neutral

      The Revolution DCC products are back up again.

      Prices are included.  Revolution DCC

      Tom

       

    • November 27, 2017 11:11 PM EST
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,166
      • Thanks
        77
      • Thanked
        272
      • Reputation
        Respected

      Looks like a 2.4 GHz deadrail product, which is great, so the receiver connects to a DCC decoder.

       

      Great, you can use the easy to use Revolution handheld, and any DCC decoder connected to the receiver. (note the receiver is only a receiver, not a motor driver, or sound unit)

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • November 28, 2017 1:44 AM EST
      • San Mateo, California
         
      • Posts
        108
      • Thanks
        5
      • Thanked
        26
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      RE: "...USAT's programmable LM317 voltage regulator did not like PWC. The only time the lights came on was at top voltage, because there no voltage variance to confuse the LM317."

      With respect to DC track power operation:

      I noticed what is suppose to be the flashing tail light in the USA Trains caboose would not illuminate (or flash on / off) using the Aristo / Revo PWC (PWM) track power base station receiver unless the TX "throttle" is increased  to maximum, after which the tail light will flash and remain flashing, even when reducing the throttle to a minimal setting!
       
      So for normal use of PWC, I am contemplating installing the accessory "PWC to Linear Board" between the caboose wheel power pickups and internal circuitry.

      PWM Low Pass Filter Board

       

      -Ted

    • November 28, 2017 2:09 AM EST

      •  
      • Posts
        2,345
      • Thanks
        8
      • Thanked
        117
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Very interesting. Looks like a 2.4gHz version of the Airwire "Convertr" or Tam Valley Depot receiver. I'm hip to that. I like the bi-directional communication between receiver and transmitter--something that's lacking with the Airwire protocol. Not being able to read your CV values when you've forgotten what you set them to is frustrating. 

       

      Definitely something I'll want to try out when it becomes available...

       

      Later,

       

      K

       

      ____________________________________
    • November 28, 2017 9:53 AM EST
    • (Moderator)
      • Your Host in Littleton, MA
         
      • Posts
        7,302
      • Thanks
        254
      • Thanked
        454
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I wonder if the new TX still saves loco info on it, or if its stored in the RX.

      ____________________________________

      Bob, your Site Host and Benevolent Dictator.

    • November 28, 2017 10:17 AM EST
      • Berkshire, Ma.
         
      • Posts
        639
      • Thanks
        84
      • Thanked
        31
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Bob McCown said:

      I wonder if the new TX still saves loco info on it, or if its stored in the RX.

       

      Bob add says saves to TX "25 locomotives and 25 accessory Separate memory slots are provided." here is full description http://www.revoelectronics.com/product/revolution-dcc/revolution-dcc-transmitter.html

      Richard

       Sorry Bob now I see your Question it says the same thing for RX

      This post was edited by Richard at November 28, 2017 10:25 AM EST
    • November 28, 2017 10:44 AM EST
    • (Moderator)
      • Your Host in Littleton, MA
         
      • Posts
        7,302
      • Thanks
        254
      • Thanked
        454
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Richard said:
      Bob McCown said:

      I wonder if the new TX still saves loco info on it, or if its stored in the RX.

       

      Bob add says saves to TX "25 locomotives and 25 accessory Separate memory slots are provided." here is full description http://www.revoelectronics.com/product/revolution-dcc/revolution-dcc-transmitter.html

      Richard

       Sorry Bob now I see your Question it says the same thing for RX

      Yea, the big gripe I have with the Revolution is that I have to duplicate my settings in every controller, and its a manual process.  Unlike plugging in a DCC controller and selecting a locomotive, where all the info is stored in the decoder in the locomotive.  I wish they would fix this, or make it easy to clone locomotive settings from one controller to another.

      ____________________________________

      Bob, your Site Host and Benevolent Dictator.

    • November 28, 2017 3:40 PM EST
      • Burke, Virginia
         
      • Posts
        6,483
      • Thanks
        68
      • Thanked
        283
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Bob McCown said:
      Richard said:
      Bob McCown said:

      I wonder if the new TX still saves loco info on it, or if its stored in the RX.

       

      Bob add says saves to TX "25 locomotives and 25 accessory Separate memory slots are provided." here is full description http://www.revoelectronics.com/product/revolution-dcc/revolution-dcc-transmitter.html

      Richard

       Sorry Bob now I see your Question it says the same thing for RX

      Yea, the big gripe I have with the Revolution is that I have to duplicate my settings in every controller, and its a manual process.  Unlike plugging in a DCC controller and selecting a locomotive, where all the info is stored in the decoder in the locomotive.  I wish they would fix this, or make it easy to clone locomotive settings from one controller to another.

      I really wonder what went through the minds of the designers when they decided they would store everything in the TX.   I keep trying to think of a rationale, but all I can come up with is an engineer thinking "My boss is a moron!"

      ____________________________________

      Bruce

      http://jbrr.com/

       

    • November 28, 2017 6:43 PM EST
      • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
         
      • Posts
        8,881
      • Thanks
        47
      • Thanked
        383
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Well, if you only have one transmitter, then why not keep the settings there? Its when you have more then one that things get.....funny.

      ____________________________________

      Shannon car Shops
      Home of the infamous leg lamp

      I.A.R.R.R. Member #12

      and King Butt Modeler

Forums Power and Sound Power and Sound DCC

    Icon Legend

  • Topic has replies
    Hot topic
    Topic unread
    Topic doesn't have any replies
    Closed topic
    BBCode  is enabled
    HTML  is enabled

Add Reputation

Do you want to add reputation for this user by this post?

or cancel

Ads by Google