Large Scale Central

Converting to Battery Power

I am new here and I have looked through the forums and if this question has been answered I coouldn’t find it. I have a Bachmann 4-6-0 Anniversary that I want to convert to battery and remote. I have bought the remote system from Remote Controls systems in Austrailia.https://www.rcs-rc.com/pages/battery-r/c/evo-package-deals I am buying the dual system so I can expand later. I need help figuring out what battery to buy. When I went to Hobbytown website it did not take long to figure out there are a lot more choices than I have knowledge for. I want to mount the battery in the tender and charge it in place. I know if I have to take the tender apart to charge it something is going to break sooner or later. Should I go 14.8 volts or 15.2 or 22.2? Lipo or graphene? I really don’t have any idea what they are talking about LOL. Please someone help a total newbee. Thanks

I have been looking at battery power, but have only looked at AirWire and RailPro systems, both are very good systems from what I have read and can find out. I’m not too familiar with the Remote Controls systems in Australia, but I’m sure they are equal in value and performance. AirWire sells batteries and if I’m not mistaken they are both around 14.8 volts, difference is size and power range. AirWire also sells charging harness and most just install a plug in the rear, or bottom of the tender, it will also require a switch DPDT? to change from charge mode to run engine mode. AirWire website (CVP) has great information and pics on installs of their equipment, but you can just put yours in place of there’s and read between the lines. Here is their website, http://www.cvpusa.com/index.php just go to Battery Systems and then to the Document Center, you will find all the reading there that should help you. I feel others on this forum are much more knowledgeable them me, I just know enough to be dangerous, but you have to start somewhere.

trainman