Large Scale Central

#20 goes into service today

I could no longer resist adding a Bachman C-19 to the roster and wanted to try the Revolution control system. I wanted something less complicated than the AirWire system that I have been using for several years.

We received the locomotive a few weeks ago and began converting it to an oil burner rather than a coal burner to mate up with the rest of the roster. I have got to say that I am impressed with the thought that went into the design of this locomotive. Very user friendly for us hackers and bashers to work with.

The revolution control system, to me, is very impressive for the price point and works as advertised. I bought the complete package through RCS New England (Don Sweet) and am very happy with my decision. Don bent over backwards to help an electronics novice like myself with the installation. With extreme patience and consideration he guided me through the installation, which once done and understood was pretty simple Thank you Don.

Enough hot air how about some pictures?

The main conversion work is done but still need to do some detail work and weathering but just wanted to get it on the line for the open house on the 6th of October.

#20 leaves Canyon Creek and heads up the hill with a light consist.

Arriving in Hyampom and getting ready to drop the water car for the logging camp.

Seems like our friend is still hanging on, probably hoping for a ride down the other side of the hill, afraid he is going to be out of luck, as this train is turning and going back to Canyon Creek.

After dropping the cars and taking the caboose down to the tail track, the engine is turned on the table and comes back to take the water car into the logging camp siding.

Here is a shot of #20 on the Hyampom Turntable.

Back down the hill and heading into the Redding yard, looks like our hobo was nothing more than a joy rider out for a days adventure.,