Large Scale Central

custom circuit boards

OK, I’m no electrical engineer, but I’ve finally been making progress on an electronics puzzle that’s been nagging me for some time. So for better or worse, I want to share what I’ve learned.

I’ve had a switch machine project on the burner for a couple years, and the prototype worked fine. Even brought it to the D&B. But I needed to miniaturize it, and got stuck on the circuit card.

Dave Bodnar’s boards are beautiful; and he told me he used PCBWay.com. Thanks Dave for all your tips!!!

However, I’m a mechanical guy, working in a 3D CAD package (solidworks) and AutoCAD. And I’ve learned that PCB (printed circuit board) manufacturers only accept proper electrical engineering PCB (“Gerber” or similar) files to do their thing. I’ve also learned that professional packages are either very tough to learn (for a non-sparky), or expensive, or both.

Now, I can make DXF files all day long, but no manufacturers accept them. And I didn’t know why. But several board makers, that supply their own version of PCB design, do accept DXF as “footprints” for the board. That is, borders and holes. Unfortunately, the output is proprietary, and you pay through the nose for that particular service.

This post is about how I was finally able to bridge that gap.

First off, my board is highly bounded by the surrounding geometry, and packaging the components hasn’t been easy.

The circuit is simple, and the board is mainly power distribution with a little signal wiring thrown in. Here’s the populated board.

The easy step was to export the board’s geometry to a DXF file.

I hunted for software that accepted DXF, and installed and tested it, only to find that the format was proprietary, the board expensive, and the output wasn’t the Gerber industry standard. So I couldn’t use PCBWay, or sources like that.