Forums Website Website
  • Topic: Picture Posting with just a 'paste' ctrl-V

    Back To Topics
    (0 rates)
    • March 28, 2018 2:47 PM EDT
      • Fort Myers Beach & Annapolis, Florida & Maryland
         
      • Posts
        1,576
      • Thanks
        17
      • Thanked
        88
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Picture Posting with just a 'paste' ctrl-V

      I was slightly amazed to discover I could insert a photo copied from West Marine in a thread just be pasting it, using CTL-V.

      http://www.largescalecentral.com/forums/topic/28092/-/view/post_id/360695

       

      Let's try that again.  Wow. It works.  That makes it easy to post pics.

       

       

      This post was edited by Pete Thornton at March 28, 2018 2:50 PM EDT
      ____________________________________

       

        Pete

    • March 28, 2018 4:45 PM EDT
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        3,536
      • Thanks
        267
      • Thanked
        292
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Which OS?

      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • March 28, 2018 5:05 PM EDT
      • Pinon Hills, California
         
      • Posts
        3,929
      • Thanks
        7
      • Thanked
        21
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I have never been able to cut and paste from my Mac or iPad. They both use the newest IOS.

    • March 28, 2018 6:15 PM EDT
      • San Mateo, California
         
      • Posts
        155
      • Thanks
        26
      • Thanked
        47
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      It seems to me a picture needs to be on a server somewhere accessible with established URL, so you can't expect to directly copy / paste from your phone or computer.

      -Ted

    • March 28, 2018 6:42 PM EDT
      • West Glocester, Rhode Island
         
      • Posts
        210
      • Thanks
        14
      • Thanked
        34
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      You are correct Ted.

      Pete,

      You are not actually "inserting a copied photo" into the message.  You are actually just Inserting a link to the photo.

      The 2 above reside at:

      http://www.guidetozscale.com/assets/images/duplex.jpg

      http://www.trainweb.org/willstrainart/Train_Art_files/AutoCad_Title.gif

      If someone deletes them from guidetozscale or trainweb they will no longer show here.

    • March 28, 2018 7:08 PM EDT
      • Phippsburg, Maine
         
      • Posts
        997
      • Thanks
        20
      • Thanked
        174
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I generally have down loaded photos to my computer then upload them to my album, then copy the link but i did take a shortcut and posted a link from my google photos album...it worked!   well it worked from my computer...not so much from the tablet.

      https://photos.app.goo.gl/iWHYyRAonIQZPnrJ3

      This post was edited by Eric Schade at March 28, 2018 7:12 PM EDT
    • March 28, 2018 9:36 PM EDT
      • Shawn carries, A Purse 02B12,
         
      • Posts
        11,965
      • Thanks
        565
      • Thanked
        445
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Ted Doskaris said:

      It seems to me a picture needs to be on a server somewhere accessible with established URL, so you can't expect to directly copy / paste from your phone or computer.

      -Ted

      Yes Ted that is correct

    • March 28, 2018 9:39 PM EDT
      • Saint Johns, Florida
         
      • Posts
        3,552
      • Thanks
        188
      • Thanked
        232
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Eric Schade said:

      I generally have down loaded photos to my computer then upload them to my album, then copy the link but i did take a shortcut and posted a link from my google photos album...it worked!   well it worked from my computer...not so much from the tablet.

      https://photos.app.goo.gl/iWHYyRAonIQZPnrJ3

      ____________________________________

       

       

    • March 28, 2018 10:52 PM EDT
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        3,536
      • Thanks
        267
      • Thanked
        292
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      trying this way

      Value is required blah blah blah

      This post was edited by John Caughey at March 28, 2018 10:57 PM EDT
      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • March 28, 2018 10:58 PM EDT
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        3,536
      • Thanks
        267
      • Thanked
        292
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      John Caughey said:

      Value is required blah blah blah

      Never mind...

      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • March 29, 2018 4:03 PM EDT
      • Fort Myers Beach & Annapolis, Florida & Maryland
         
      • Posts
        1,576
      • Thanks
        17
      • Thanked
        88
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Here's a photo from my computer - which doesn't work.  I had figured it was the URL that was allowing me to post it.

       

      The point is you don't have to go thru the "Manage Photos" or "copy image location/Insert photo" just to paste a photo.  Just copy it and ctl-v.

      (I'm on Win10 with Firefox, but I don't think it's a browser issue.  It's the forum software extracting the URL and doing the 'insert image' for you.)

       

       

      ____________________________________

       

        Pete

    • March 29, 2018 4:16 PM EDT
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        3,536
      • Thanks
        267
      • Thanked
        292
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I asked about OS, because Benevolent Bob once posted key equivalents to mouse controls... and it looked similar.

      My nonsense post above was trying to insert a pic using the Reply tab at the top of the thread. I get instructions that says I can insert from the HD, but it didn't work 2 ways I tried...

      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • March 29, 2018 6:19 PM EDT
      • Saint Johns, Florida
         
      • Posts
        3,552
      • Thanks
        188
      • Thanked
        232
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      OMG, it works!

      ____________________________________

       

       

    • March 29, 2018 6:24 PM EDT
      • Saint Johns, Florida
         
      • Posts
        3,552
      • Thanks
        188
      • Thanked
        232
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Image result for Steam locos

      It's not a fluke. It DOES work if the photo is already on line somewhere. Good find Pete.

      ____________________________________

       

       

    • March 30, 2018 5:42 AM EDT
      • Fort Myers Beach & Annapolis, Florida & Maryland
         
      • Posts
        1,576
      • Thanks
        17
      • Thanked
        88
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I found a peculiarity.  I tried 'pasting' a photo from my Freight Shed space, and it worked - sorta.  The pic turned up but it was a bit large, so I clicked it and hit the "insert/edit image" button on the toolbar, and found no dimension data - nor would the s/w fill in any.  To resize, I had to go back and insert it using the insert/edit image and then set the dimensions.

       

       

       

      ____________________________________

       

        Pete

    • March 30, 2018 10:33 AM EDT

      •  
      • Posts
        229
      • Thanks
        0
      • Thanked
        30
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Test

       

      This post was edited by Paul Burch at March 30, 2018 10:35 AM EDT
      ____________________________________

      Paul Burch

      Sierra Cascade & Pacific RR

    • March 30, 2018 11:18 AM EDT
      • Vail, Az
         
      • Posts
        3,536
      • Thanks
        267
      • Thanked
        292
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      I tried it this morning and got a page of code that was harder to delete, took several clicks to undo it ... somehow the old way was better!

      ____________________________________

      John

       

      The older I get, the less I know, please don't make me prove it.

       

       

    • March 30, 2018 12:37 PM EDT
      • Carlsbad, CA
         
      • Posts
        6,764
      • Thanks
        88
      • Thanked
        356
      • Reputation
        Respected

      I've been holding off on commenting.

      When you right click on a picture and your browser gives you options like copy picture, copy picture location, etc. then you KNOW what you are getting.

      When you find a "shortcut" like just says "copy" and "paste" without being specific and it works, that's great, EXCEPT that this often changes from operating system to operating system, or changes with different browser versions, etc.

       

      I've seen these shortcuts come and go since I started using computers in 1975....

       

      I've always been an advocate of knowing what is happening, rather than leaving it to the whims of the computer gods...

       

      I have a lot of "friends" that ask for help on computers, and overwhelmingly they are in 2 camps: the most common is "I don't want to know how it works, just tell me the keystrokes and I'll memorize them or write it down"... this camp will be back every month or so asking how to go an almost identical task, because they don't want to spend the time understanding the concept.

       

      The other camp, with many fewer "occupants" are the ones that take the time for the explanation of how something works, and can do similar tasks all on their own.

       

      Guess which camp get's the fastest "service" from me....

       

      I liken this thread to the first camp... a new "shortcut" is found... and in a month or so, if it quits working, many people are back to square one... did everyone come out ahead?

       

      Greg

      ____________________________________

      Be sure­ to visit ­my site, l­ots of tec­hnical tip­s and modi­fications,­ and you c­an search ­for topics­ and key w­ords.


      ­Click HERE for Greg­'s web sit­e
      PLEASE NOT­E: Please do NOT use private messaging, i­f you have­ a questio­n, feel fr­ee to emai­l me priva­tely, u­se regular­ email onl­y: greg@el­massian.co­m

    • March 30, 2018 1:56 PM EDT
      • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
         
      • Posts
        9,334
      • Thanks
        55
      • Thanked
        457
      • Reputation
        Well Respected

      Greg Elmassian said:

      I've been holding off on commenting.

      When you right click on a picture and your browser gives you options like copy picture, copy picture location, etc. then you KNOW what you are getting.

      And knowing is better.

      When you find a "shortcut" like just says "copy" and "paste" without being specific and it works, that's great, EXCEPT that this often changes from operating system to operating system, or changes with different browser versions, etc.

      I've seen these shortcuts come and go since I started using computers in 1975....

      I've always been an advocate of knowing what is happening, rather than leaving it to the whims of the computer gods...

      I have a lot of "friends" that ask for help on computers, and overwhelmingly they are in 2 camps: the most common is "I don't want to know how it works, just tell me the keystrokes and I'll memorize them or write it down"... this camp will be back every month or so asking how to go an almost identical task, because they don't want to spend the time understanding the concept.

      Yup. It even happens with technicians. They want the quick fix, instead of taking the time to understand the why.

      The other camp, with many fewer "occupants" are the ones that take the time for the explanation of how something works, and can do similar tasks all on their own.

      I am in that camp. But, surprisingly, the "experts" I talk to, tend to give a long sigh before they go through the explanation. Almost like they don't want to be bothered passing along a nugget of knowledge.

      Guess which camp get's the fastest "service" from me....

      I liken this thread to the first camp... a new "shortcut" is found... and in a month or so, if it quits working, many people are back to square one... did everyone come out ahead?

      Greg

      Greg, some of us will come out ahead. Its called "entertainment".

      ____________________________________

      Shannon car Shops
      Home of the infamous leg lamp

      I.A.R.R.R. Member #12

      and King Butt Modeler

Forums Website Website

    Icon Legend

  • Topic has replies
    Hot topic
    Topic unread
    Topic doesn't have any replies
    Closed topic
    BBCode  is enabled
    HTML  is enabled

Add Reputation

Do you want to add reputation for this user by this post?

or cancel

Ads by Google