Large Scale Central

Revolution VS Train Engineer

I have been using an Aristo TE for many years now and it is great in that it gives me remote control over my engines. I never bothered to put the extra receivers in the engines due to cost and simply use the TE to power all the trains on the track at once. All my siding are isolated so I can park a train on them while the others still run.

Lately I have been slowly adding sound to my locos and I have been considering getting a Revolution system. After having a nice chat with the owner of Dallee sound at the Amherst show this year I found out that his sound boards are plug and play compatible with the Revo.

I do understand that I would need to wire in a receiver to reap the benefits of the Revo like playing the bells or horn but would I need to do that with all my locos at once?

Can the Revo be used like a TE, connected to the track to power all the trains or will it only work with a receiver?

If I bought a Revo system with diesel sound or used a dallee board, installed it in my GP38 could I still run my Heisler or NW2 which wouldn’t have the receiver?

If say the GP38 had the revo installed could I use the TE to power the rest of the fleet at the same time?

Thanks. Inquiring minds want to know.

First, plug and play normally implies plugs in, with a plug… Dallee is no more plug and play than wiring in an extra light bulb. It sounds nice but it’s just not a correct description.

There are plug and play units for your aristo and other locos. Specifically Aristo has a socket that some units plug directly in.

There is a manufacturer that makes a replacement main board to allow this for USA trains.

Not to rag on Dallee, but it is NOT plug and play, and it’s unfair to the other manufacturers who have gone to the effort to make plug and play products.