Large Scale Central

When to blow the whistle

This has probably been asked before, but…

When switching, how often does the engineer or fireman have to blow the whistle? Every time he changes direction (forward, reverse) or when the loco stops? And what about the bell? Does it ring the whole time the loco is in the yard or moving among the various sidings?

I’m not an expert, but my understanding is every change in motion, including stopping.

Also often the bell is on all the time, not sure it is a rule, and I understand rules vary between railroads.

Greg

Joe Rusz said:

This has probably been asked before, but…

When switching, how often does the engineer or fireman have to blow the whistle? Every time he changes direction (forward, reverse) or when the loco stops? And what about the bell? Does it ring the whole time the loco is in the yard or moving among the various sidings?

I can quote the GCOR rule if you want real details, but in switching operations the whistle is not sounded every time the engine moves. A few dings on the bell are okay, but most people are lazy don’t ring. Plus the crew on the ground will get mad if you blow and ding all the time. Now back with hand signs (no radio) a whistle would signal that the engineer received and understood the hand sign and was moving. I would imagine in preradio era’s the switching yards were a lot noisier than they are today.

I’d say 80-90% of the time when switching the bell/whistle are off. Road trains on the other hand tend to blow on start because they aren’t making a lot of different moves.

Thanks, guys. Good info.

I can only refer to my experience with the local railroad, switching out the elevator in town… All their coomunication is basically done by radio… Horns are only used at the road crossings… The bell very seldom rings…

Modern horn signals, carry over from steam era.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Train_horn#United_States

Steam whistle signals:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Train_whistle