Large Scale Central

Adding water feature on the RC &TR Ridge RR

After a few months of planning work has finally begun on adding a waterfall and pond feature on the railroad. Heavy lifting started today by moving one large boulder away from a cluster of three in order to open up a section for the pond. A second boulder will also be moved to finish the area.

The grand plan is for a waterfall to come off the mountain next to the tunnel and spill over the tracks. Yes, the train will be going behind the waterfall. There will be an upper pond on the layout which will spill into a pool just in front of the raised bed. This is where the pump, etc will all be housed.

My biggest challenge is getting the liner under the boulders…very heavy. I’m always appreciative of thoughts or suggestions. I’ve never done anything like this before so am looking forward to the challenge.

Richard

Go Richard go! I look forward to seeing your progress.

My water feature is still in the thinking stage. I would like to make the feature about 60 feet long but I don’t know if the pump can handle a three foot height change in that many feet!

The best leverage tool for $12 turned out to be a 10 foot 4x4. Made short work of moving two boulders into their new resting spots…now its time start digging the pond…

Richard

Doug Arnold said:

Go Richard go! I look forward to seeing your progress.

My water feature is still in the thinking stage. I would like to make the feature about 60 feet long but I don’t know if the pump can handle a three foot height change in that many feet!

If not, then buy a bigger pump. I have a pond pump that is rated at something like 535gph. It lifts a fair amount of water about 3 feet, give or take, but the run is probably only 5 or 6 feet. Its the head, or height, that it has to lift the water that should matter more then the run, provided you use large enough tubing so as to not restrict the flow.