Large Scale Central

Getting Started with JMRI

Earlier (WAY earlier), Craig had posted a link from MRH on getting started with JMRI.

I notice that there have been a couple of other posts and thought I’d put them all here to make it easier to find them all.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

I’ve been using the operations part of JMRI for several years now and it has worked out rather well.

Also found this presentation on using JMRI. Not bad, but I don’t know why people insist on putting backgrounds in that make the text so hard to read.

I’ve been wondering if a Small Layout Ops manual (for the way we’ve been using JMRI) isnt something we should whip up.

Bruce,

I haven’t really played around with JMRI other than entering all of my rolling stock. Thanks for putting all those links together, maybe I’ll get motivated to play around with it a bit more.

I found something even easier to read… All the threads combined into a single PDF.

http://rcairgallery.com/stuff/Using-JMRI-Operations-A-Worked-Example.pdf

Bob McCown said:

I’ve been wondering if a Small Layout Ops manual (for the way we’ve been using JMRI) isnt something we should whip up.

Hehe. I wonder how many of us use it the same way? Still, it might be a good idea. Or maybe it’s just a matter of putting those 5 parts into one document?

Hmmm…

I was just trying to get a train built and kept getting “Build Failed” messages. It’s nice that the report gives enough information to change some cars around - I just didn’t have enough room for cars leaving from my staging area. Once I built that train first, there weren’t any problems.

Ive found using “Agressive Mode” in building trains moves more cars around. I think what it does is, when its building your train, it empties sidings first, THEN puts in new cars (instead of the other way around).

http://jmri.sourceforge.net/help/en/package/jmri/jmrit/operations/Operations.shtml

“Build Options”, a bit down on the page.

Yes, I always use aggressive mode.