Large Scale Central

Never send a woman to the hardware store when I should have gone

My lovely bride was going to “The Big City,” and asked if I needed anything. Needing a few tubes of styrene glue, I showed her the tube, and asked her to pick up a couple.

Twenty minutes later, I get a call from her. She’s at the hardware store (LHS is 30 miles away, in the opposite direction), “Now what was it you wanted, I can’t find that tube that you gave me.”

“I need glue for styrene, it comes in a red tube, ask a salesman.”

“I did,” says she, “he says that they don’t carry anything like that.”

Sigh. I have been buying all of my glue at that store for the last 8 years. The last time was two weeks ago. “Just ask him for the stuff to glue model airplanes together,” says I.

“But you aren’t building model airplanes,” says she.

Bigger sigh. You see where this is going, right?

“Doesn’t matter,” says I. “Its the same stuff.”

“OK.”

So, she comes home with two tubes of MEK. I don’t know that I’ve ever used MEK. Will it work on PIKO buildings without destroying them? Anything special that I need to look out for? Precautions?

MEK, will soften plastic, in fact it is the active ingredient in some model cements. I find that it evaporates so fast that its difficult for me to use to glue plastic together, but I have done it. Use it sparingly, and on the insides and make sure your seams are tight. If it gets on the outside finish it will mar the finish.

Tubes, huh? Is it pure MEK or mixed with something else? I have pure MEK as its a liquid. Sounds like what ever she bought had MEK plus a thickener like many other hobby glues. I tend to use straight MEK, fill a needle bottle and glue away. If I need something a little thicker I use a hobby glue, but 99% of the time I use MEK. It will bond any type of plastic together (abs to styrene for example). Using a needle bottle prevents too much MEK from going where you don’t want it to go.