Large Scale Central

Progression pics of weathering

I got around to weathering another car last night. I figured I would take some progression pics of the process, so somebody new can see what it looks like. Also, what it looks like inside is completely different than what it will look like outside.

I know I’m a novice at this…since this is only car number 4 that I have done, but I figured it might somebody just starting out like I am. Pictures are always good!

Sorry the pictures are crappy, it was late last night, minimal light in the room, and I took them with my phone.

I’ve already applied one coat of dulcoat to the car. Then I start.

First coat of weathering is done and I’ve applied more dulcoat

more weathering, more dulcoat

yet another coat of both

I’m calling this side done, need to weather the bottom now. I know what you’re thinking. IT’S DARK! But trust me. It’s the lighting.

more weathering, more dulcoat

And it’s done. Well, this side is. I still need to touch up the steps, but it’s basically done.

And here it is outside in natural light.

Nicely done! To me, one of the marks of good weathering (like making a painting by the way!) is that you could stop anywhere along the line and the work would be a success. I think you’ve achieved that; and, you seem to have a knack for this, so I hope you continue and keep us updated on your work.

Do you use an air brush, or a rattle can?

Thanks John! I’ll keep posting. :smiley:

Steve, I use a rattle can for the dulcoat. And it’s actually Krylon colormaster clear in flat. The weathering is dry brushed on after I spray it. I let it dry for a few minutes…or dry it with a hair dryer. Then start brushing on the weathering.

Matt,

Nice pics but what did you do ?

What did you use for weathering ?

1)Paint

2)Powder

3)Chalk

4)Other

5)Real dirt

What brushes did you use?

1)Artist

2)Makeup brushes

3)pads, wipes

1. Q-Tips

What colors?

Would be very helpful for the newer members to know.